In addition to the traditional juried award categories, the honorary awards recognize members of the community who have contributed to making the performing arts vibrant and successful.

Below are the 2018 - 2019 Honorary Award Recipients for The Winnipeg Theatre Awards!

Award Categories

Career Contribution Award  - Brian Perchaluk


Generously Sponsored by

A graduate of the University of Winnipeg and the National Theatre School of Canada, Brian has designed productions for major arts companies across the country. He is a recipient of a Jessie Richardson and Prix Rideau award for outstanding set design, and a Gemini Award for production design.

Behind The Scenes Award - Melinda Tallin
Melinda has spent over 25 years in the field of theatre administrative support in Winnipeg, first at Prairie Theatre Exchange and then with Royal Manitoba Theatre Centre, and now shares that experience while helping students in the University of Winnipeg Theatre & Film Department navigate their way through to their chosen careers.

Theatre Champion Award  - Charles Huband
Charles Huband was the instigator, then a life-long builder, of Prairie Theatre Exchange. When the theatre school at MTC closed in the 1970s, Charles formed a board, and, with Colin Jackson, established not only a new theatre school, but a theatre company focused on living Canadian authors and new play development: Prairie Theatre Exchange.

Theatre Educator Award - Kayla Gordon
Kayla has been a Winnipeg based theatre educator and mentor for nearly four decades. She taught drama at the high school level for twelve years, as well as instructing at Prairie Theatre Exchange, MTYP, the University of Manitoba and the University of Winnipeg, where she taught acting and musical theatre for 18 years. Kayla used her passion for theatre to found the Manitoba Drama Educators’ Association and the Manitoba Drama Youth Festival.

How to Nominate

Although nominations for the current awards season are closed, check back soon to see information regarding the 2019 - 2020 season!

To make your nomination, please complete the online form by clicking HERE. If you have trouble accessing the link, please contact us 

Past Honorary Award Recipients

2017 - 2018 Honorary Award Recipients

2016 - 2017 Honorary Award Recipients